Voilà

April 17, 2007

Voilà on UrbanspoonI had dinner at Rover’s a while back, and as we were walking out – stuffed beyond belief – I felt a twinge of envy watching the people at Voilà across the street. Don’t get me wrong, Rover’s has unforgettable food (and daunting prices), but there’s something irresistible about a simple French bistro.

So I was excited to finally try Voilà last night. It was a real treat, and my only regret is that I forgot my camera. I’ll do my best to recreate the meal.

Onion soup: rich, delicious broth, hot enough to burn your tongue and tasty enough to make you not care. Normally onion soup, capped with so much cheese, is a meal in itself. I was happy that this one was relatively light.

Chevre chaud: the chevre itself was delicious, but it was a tiny little puck on top of a salad that was pretty unexceptional. Not bad at all, just not great.

Boeuf bourguignon: a bistro classic, I only tried a bite of this, so I can’t really comment. The plate’s owner seemed very pleased.

Steak frites: sacre bleu! Delicious. Do what I did; when the waitress says something is the favorite of everyone who works there, order it. The French elevate hanger steak to a delicacy, and I was sopping up the shallot reduction sauce long after the steak was gone. The fries were great, too!

Coq au vin: another compulsory bistro dish, well-prepared and thoroughly enjoyable.

Profiteroles: I’d heard the profiteroles were a treat, and I wasn’t disappointed. A pair of puffed-pastries, packed with ice cream and topped with chocolate sauce. If you like any of those things, try the profiteroles. If you don’t, please stop reading my blog.

Creme brulee: perfect carmelized crust, cream not too sweet. Another strong showing.

I don’t mean to gush, but they got it right. Simple, warm, homey, inexpensive with great food and friendly service. This is what a bistro is all about.

Late addition: Oh, for shame, how could I forget?! On Sunday’s they offer 50% off of all wines on the menu. 50% off. Think about it.

2 Responses to “Voilà”


  1. I love your blog.. very nice colors & theme. Did you create this website
    yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you? Plz answer back as
    I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. thanks a lot


  2. Hi there, I found your site by way of Google even as searching for a similar topic, your
    web site got here up, it seems great. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, simply become aware of your blog through Google, and found that it is really informative. I am going to be careful for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you proceed this in future.
    Many people will be benefited out of your writing.
    Cheers!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

