Last chance for Betty’s lunch

July 3, 2007

Betty in SeattleA few reasons to go to Betty for lunch today:

1) Half the price of dinner,

2) Delicious food,

3) No crowds,

4) It’s now or never. Perhaps because of reason 3 above, Betty is discontinuing lunch as of the 4th of July. What a tragic abuse of Independence Day.

Yesterday was my first visit to the new Crow spin-off on top of Queen Anne. I had a mouth-watering pork sandwich with a light aioli and pickled red peppers with a funny name I’ve forgotten. Having lived in Texas long enough to become hopelessly enamored of proper pulled pork sandwiches, I was skeptical of this barbecue-less rendition. One bite in and all concern vanished. It was tender, juicy, with the perfect bun-to-meat ratio. It was what you’d hope would happen to a sloppy joe if it grew up, cleaned up and moved to the city. The shoestring fries were also perfect, the service was friendly, and I finished full without being stuffed.

So imagine my disappointment when I discovered this was going to be my last time eating lunch at Betty. I was despondent. To be introduced to such a lovely experience, only to have it snatched away. Heart breaking.

I can think of only one way this tragedy may be averted. If you care, call Betty at (206) 352-3773 and beg, plead, wheedle, cajole — whatever you can to make them change their collective Betty mind. I implore you.

Leave a Reply

